FOLLOW

BAILEY (3)2015 has been a wonderful year. Not to be confused with an easy one. The biggest change I have seen in my life is how radically my faith has grown. I have stepped out on faith and seen myself, more so then ever before, prayerful consider where I am headed. Everyday I am learning more about God. I have learnt that if you give God an inch He will give you a mile. I cannot wait to continue my walk down for many more miles.

To determine my 2016 goals, I used the #GOALsheet from Gennean’s blog to help me work through what I want to achieve this coming year.

Write the vision; make it plain on tablets, so he may run who reads it. For still the vision awaits it’s appointed time; it hastens to the end – it will not lie. If it seems slow, wait for it; it will surely come; it will not delay.

– Habbakuk 2:2-3

I started by spending three minutes writing as many goals as I could. I came up with sixteen.

  1. Follow Jesus
  2. Go to Disneyland
  3. Give more then I take
  4. Keep blogging
  5. Go to university
  6.  Graduate high school with straight A’s
  7. Journal, journal, journal
  8. Start interactive food night again, a night where friends come together and cook. Lots of bonding can be done over a bowl of pasta.
  9. Paint more
  10. Sail
  11. Write for a newspaper
  12. Donate my time and my money
  13. Be happy
  14. Take a roadtrip
  15. Have more coffee dates
  16. Complain less

Next I looked at my list and committed myself to pursuing three dreams, themes, or passions over the next year. surprisingly my three came to me with ease.

  1. Follow Jesus
  2. Continue my education
  3. Invest – in relationships and the community

God wont give you a desire unless he intends to fulfill it. Let your faith rise up & soar away to claim all the land that you discover.

– SA Keen

I was left with a series of questions.

What was “so 2015” that I wanted to leave it behind.

  • Complaining
  • Worry
  • Selfishness
  • Comparison

My focus for this year would be…

  • Jesus
  • Being grateful and thankful
  • Stopping and smelling the roses
  • Writing
  • School
  • Relationships!

Picking up on relationships, I thought about all the people who I am thankful to have in my life in this new year. These are my wishes for these lovelies for this next year. 2016 will be filled with Joyous relationships.

  • Maggie – That she is more at peace with her future.
  • Natalie – That she is still as happy and bubbly.
  • Sarah – That she finds her place in this world through her decisions about school.
  • Emily – That she keeps her kind spirit and doesn’t become jaded by the world.
  • Ali – That she never looses her fire.
  • Laura – That she keeps her adventurous soul and stays grounded with the company of serenity.
  • Sally – That she stays excited over the little things in life.
  • Kristin – That she continues to live her life boldly.
  • Kate – That she continues to thrive and stays very happy.
  • Silvia – That she never lowers her standards and keeps those wide eyed dreams.
  • Lexey – That she is able to figure out what she wants from this life

There are so many more people who I love and want to see accomplish the world in the coming year.

I decided to pick a work to represent 2016 – FOLLOW.

Over the last 3 months I have had to make some hard choices. Choices that I truly felt God was calling me to. I realized for the first time just how loving and merciful our God is. He is so good! I learnt that it is a daily choice to choose God and sometimes that isn’t easy but it is oh so worth it. I have truly never been happier. I have learnt that when I give everything to Jesus that is when I find true peace and happiness. I not only want that for the next year, but all of the ones following.

I want Jesus forever and always.

I want to make a conscious effort to focus on that this year, on Him.

lastly, I divided some more refined goals into six categories. Please note I eliminated the financial section of the #GOALsheets as I am a mere high school student.

Career

  • Continue to blog
  • Write for a news outlet

Physical

  • Get some new socks, I can explain this one I promise.
  • Be apart at least one sport at any given time.

Social

  • Invest in my friends.
  • Make sure people know how much I love them.

Family

  • Trust God and follow his guidance.

Intellectual

  • Graduate High School
  • Start university
  • Write letters and postcards
  • Journal more often then not

Spiritual

  • FOLLOW
  • Love abundantly
  • Listen

2016 I have loved getting to know you thus far.

Leave a Reply

